Vanesa's Blog

Student of Social Media & PR

Quit Facebook Day!! May 18, 2010

Filed under: Facebook,influence,Social Media,Uncategorized — Vanesa @ 11:57 PM
Tags: , , ,

May 31st is the big day! And it’s not just Memorial Day. On May 31st we are supposed to be boycotting Facebook. It’s Quit Facebook Day! And thus far 5,496 are committed to quit Facebook. I know this might be a shock for all you die-hard Facebook lovers, for me not so much, and your first thought is why! It’s the privacy issue. The lack of intent and respect that Facebook has for our data. They give us no option on how they use our personal data. Meaning: they can sell or dispense our information to any company that gives them a dollar!

Your probably thinking, “so what?!” A few people quitting Facebook isn’t such a big deal. But it’s actually more than a few people. Many web industry leaders are also quitting Facebook and finding new alternatives to communicate to people. Check out who and what their saying: More Web Industry Leaders Quit Facebook, Call For Open Alternative

Honestly, I don’t know if I would quit Facebook, even though I don’t like it very much. I’m still on MySpace. I don’t use it very often but as someone in the Social Media field I feel that its necessary to be apart of as many mediums as you can manage. But I’ll keep you posted as to whether I’ll quit Facebook, it’s just that I have so many family members on there. So I’ll see what I’ll do.

For more info check out: Quit Facebook Day

 

Leave a Reply

